ESS Virtual June 2021

Virtual Meeting of the European Studies Section (ESS) of ACRL

Meetings held online between June 17 and June 29, 2021
Meetings are not being held on the ALA/ACRL Zoom instance and registration for the ALA Annual Conference is not a prerequisite for attending the meetings.


Schedule

Times listed: Pacific (PT), Mountain (MT), Central US (CT), Eastern (ET), Central European (CET). For other time zones, convert to your time zone.
Please register for individual meetings to receive a Zoom link.

Thursday, June 17, 2021

TimeMeetingZoom
9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Slavic Cataloging and Metadata CommitteeRegister in advance for this meeting
11:00 – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
Classical/Medieval/Renaissance Discussion GroupRegister in advance for this meeting

Friday, June 18, 2021

TimeMeetingZoom
12:00 – 1:30 PM (PT)
1:00 – 12:30 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:30 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:30 PM (CET)
Joint Communications & Publ. Comm / Newsletter Comm. MeetingRegister in advance for this meeting

Monday, June 21, 2021

TimeMeetingZoom
10:00 – 11:30 AM (PT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (MT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (CT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (ET)
7:00 – 8:30 PM (CET)
Joint Germanists / Romance Languages Discussion Group MeetingRegister in advance for this meeting
12:00 – 1:00 PM (PT)
1:00 – 2:00 PM (MT)
2:00 – 3:00 PM (CT)
3:00 – 4:00 PM (ET)
9:00 – 10:00 PM (CET)
ACRL ESS Research & Planning CommitteeRegister in advance for this meeting

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

TimeMeetingZoom
9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
ESS Forum: Resources for Supporting Research into the Black European ExperienceRegister in advance for this forum
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
College and Medium-Sized Libraries Discussion GroupRegister in advance for this meeting

Thursday, June 24, 2021

TimeMeetingZoom/Registration
9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
ACRL ESS Vendor Social via Gather.town
(About Gather.town)
Register in advance for this event
11:00 – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
Slavic and Eastern European Discussion GroupRegister in advance for this meeting

Friday, June 25, 2021

TimeMeetingZoom
9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT)
10:00 – 11:30 AM (MT)
11:00-12:30 PM (CT)
12:00 – 1:30 pm (ET)
6:00 – 7:30 PM (CET)
Social Event
Hosted by the ESS Membership Committee
Register in advance for this event

Monday, June 28, 2021

TimeMeetingZoom
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
General Membership MeetingRegister in advance for this meeting

Tuesday, June 29, 2021

TimeMeetingZoom
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM (PT)
12:00 – 1:30 PM (MT)
1:00 – 2:30 PM (CT)
2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)
8:00 – 9:30 PM (CET)
Executive Committee MeetingRegister in advance for this meeting

ESS Forum

Register in advance for this forum

Resources for Supporting Research into the Black European Experience 

The European Studies Section (ESS) of the ACRL invites you to a virtual discussion about research into the present-day Black European experience on June 22, 2021, at 9:00AM PT/10:00AM MT/ 11:00AM CT/ 12:00PM ET / 5:00PM GMT. Our speakers will present their work, followed by a Q&A addressing important questions such as the following: How can North American research librarians support scholars and students who want to learn more about the Black European experience and do so in respectful and responsible ways? How are the experiences of communities of color reflected in libraries and archives in Europe?

Speakers

  • Natasha A. Kelly has a PhD in Communication Studies and Sociology with a research focus on visual communication, colonialism and feminism. Her new book Mapping Black Europe: Monuments, Markers, Memories will be published in 2022.
  • Stephen Small, PhD, is a professor in the Department of African American Studies at the University of California, Berkeley, where he has taught since 1995. His most recent book is 20 Questions and Answers on Black Europe (2018). He is co-editor of Black Europe and the African Diaspora ( with Darlene Clark Hine and Trica Danielle Keaton) (2009), and is the author of Living History: The Legacy of Slavery in the Netherlands (Amrit/NINsee Publishers, The Hague, 2012). He was born and raised in Liverpool. 

Committees and Discussion Groups

Committee and Discussion Group meetings will be arranged before the General Membership meeting on Monday, June 28, at the chairs’/conveners’ discretion.

Resources